the bond project notes from the desk

Issuer study · NBFC

Capri Global Capital

A lender that turned itself into a gold loan company in three years, then sold ₹889 crore of bonds to retail investors. Here is what your money funds, what protects it, what the bonds change hands at today, and why three rating agencies cannot agree on what this company is.

Published 29 July 2026

The short version

Coupons on offer 8.55% to 9.70% Twelve series across two public issues, all secured, all BSE listed
Trading yields today 8.5% to 9.7% What a buyer earns at current market prices, on the ten series with a meaningful yield
Servicing record Nothing missed No default or delay has ever been filed on any Capri borrowing
Liquidity 0.25% Share of the ₹889 cr issued that has traded, about ₹2.9 lakh a day across twelve lines

In August 2022 Capri Global Capital did not make gold loans. By June 2025 gold was its single largest business, run out of 821 branches by more than four thousand staff. Almost everything interesting about these bonds follows from that sentence.

Capri is a non-banking finance company. It lends against property to small businesses, it lends for housing through a subsidiary, it funds builders, and it lends against gold. It has sold bonds to the public twice, in October 2025 and April 2026, raising ₹889 crore between them. Those bonds are what this study is about.

We have read both prospectuses in full, all 1,187 pages of them, along with a year of exchange filings, four rating agency documents, and every trade our own market feed has recorded. Where a claim mattered, we sent a second researcher to try to knock it down. Several got knocked down. Those are noted as they arise.

What you are actually buying

Twelve separate bonds, from two issues. Each one is a plain promise: Capri pays you interest, then gives you ₹1,000 back on the maturity date. What differs between them is how long you wait, and how often you get paid.

Every Capri Global bond available to retail investors Face value ₹1,000 each · all secured · all listed on BSE only
ISINSeriesCouponPaidMaturesRaised (₹ cr)
INE180C07189I8.55%Monthly13 Apr 202723.37
INE180C07221II8.90%Annual13 Apr 202775.92
INE180C07171III8.90%Monthly13 Oct 202886.78
INE180C07205IV9.25%Annual13 Oct 202841.49
INE180C07197V9.45%Annual13 Oct 2030112.35
INE180C07213VI9.70%Annual13 Oct 203560.09
October 2025 issueSix series, cap filled exactly, closed a week early400.00
INE180C07288Apr I9.00%Annual30 Apr 2028248.13
INE180C07304Apr I8.80%Monthly30 Apr 202956.70
INE180C07320Apr I9.15%Annual30 Apr 202931.99
INE180C07296Apr I8.93%Monthly30 Apr 203122.14
INE180C07338Apr I9.30%Annual30 Apr 203136.36
INE180C07312Apr I9.50%Annual30 Apr 203693.80
April 2026 issueSix series, fell ₹10.89 cr short of its ₹500 cr ceiling489.11
Series and amounts reconcile to the rupee against Capri's own exchange filing of 27 July 2026 and against both rating agencies' instrument annexures. Interest accrues on an actual by actual day count. The record date is 15 days before each payment.

What are they trading at right now?

Thinly, is the short answer. Here is every series, with the last price our feed recorded.

Last traded price and yield, by series Our exchange feed, to 29 July 2026
ISINCouponMaturesLast priceLast tradedYieldDays traded
INE180C072889.00%Apr 20281,015.0027 Jul9.37%29
INE180C073048.80%Apr 20291,012.9024 Jul8.50%11
INE180C073209.15%Apr 20291,010.0029 Jul9.65%21
INE180C072968.93%Apr 20311,000.5028 Jul9.25%14
INE180C073389.30%Apr 20311,010.0029 Jul9.62%16
INE180C073129.50%Apr 20361,055.0027 Jul8.97%27
INE180C071718.90%Oct 20281,014.0027 Jul8.45%22
INE180C072059.25%Oct 20281,050.0023 Jul10.34%17
INE180C071979.45%Oct 20301,075.0028 Jul9.41%10
INE180C072139.70%Oct 20351,028.1022 Jul10.50%34
INE180C071898.55%Apr 2027988.0028 Jul7.45%not annualised33
INE180C072218.90%Apr 20271,046.2027 Jul8.85%not annualised34
Days traded are out of 80 trading days for the October 2025 series and 61 for the April 2026 series, which listed later. The two bonds maturing in April 2027 have under a year left to run, so their figures are returns over the remaining period rather than annual rates. They are not comparable with the rest of the column and should not be read as annual yields. Prices on Indian exchanges include the interest that has built up since the last coupon date, so a bond quoted above ₹1,000 is not automatically expensive. Yields on the thinner lines can rest on very small trades: the 9.70% line's last price was two bonds.

Now the liquidity, which is the part that matters more than the yield.

Across all twelve series, ₹2.20 crore of these bonds have changed hands against ₹889 crore issued. That is a quarter of one percent of the paper, roughly ₹2.9 lakh a day spread across twelve lines. On 202 of the 268 days where any series traded at all, that whole day's trading was under ₹1 lakh.

Put plainly: a small order will fill. If you want to buy or sell ₹50,000 of these, you will find someone on the other side. If you need to get out of ₹20 lakh in a hurry, you will push the price against yourself, and on the quieter series you may not find a buyer that week at all. The 9.45% October 2030 series has traded on ten days out of seventy six.

One limit on what we can tell you. Our trade database begins on 2 April 2026. The October 2025 bonds had already been listed for five and a half months by then, and we have no record of that period. Nothing on this page describes trading "since listing", because we cannot see it.

Both issues are listed on BSE only, not NSE. And the online bond platforms mostly do not carry them: at the time of writing SMEST returns no quote, IndiaBonds shows no prices, and Jiraaf lists only Capri's privately placed paper. Practical access is the BSE debt segment through a broker.

What this lender turned into

Capri started making gold loans in August 2022 from 108 branches. By June 2025 it had 821 gold branches across ten states and 4,928 of its 11,546 employees worked in that business. India Ratings put the growth at a 153% compound annual rate, inside a company growing overall at 50% a year.

Where the money is lent, and how it is performing At 30 June 2025, consolidated
BusinessSize (₹ cr)ShareYieldBad loansProvision cover
Gold loans9,10536.8%20.7%0.81%15.7%
Housing (subsidiary)5,49022.2%13.1%1.38%
Small business, against property5,47922.1%15.7%4.29%
Construction finance4,51918.3%17.3%0.18%
Indirect lending1460.6%
Average loan sizes differ enormously: about ₹14,000 for a gold loan, ₹15 lakh for a small business loan, and ₹16.1 crore for a construction loan. "Bad loans" here means borrowers who have stopped paying, on the standard measure lenders must report.
Two words you need for the rest of this page. Bad loans is the share of money lent to people who have stopped repaying. Provision cover is how much of that money the lender has already written off in its own accounts as probably gone. If a lender has ₹100 of bad loans and 40% cover, it has already taken a ₹40 hit and is still hoping to recover ₹60. Higher cover means the lender is being more cautious. Lower cover means it is more confident of getting the money back, and if it is wrong, the loss lands later.

Read that table twice, because it cuts two ways.

Gold lending looks like the safest business Capri has. Only 0.81% of it has gone bad, while it earns 20.7% a year. And it is easy to see why it should be safe: the borrower's jewellery is locked in Capri's vault, and Capri lends only about ₹65 against every ₹100 the gold is worth. If someone stops paying, Capri sells the gold and should still come out whole.

Because of that, Capri sets aside less money against gold loans going bad than against anything else it does. It covers 15.7% of its bad gold loans, against 41% across the company as a whole. That is a deliberate choice and a reasonable one: gold is easy to sell, so you should need a smaller cushion.

The catch is that the cushion has never been tested. This business did not exist before August 2022, and the gold price has risen for almost the whole time it has existed. Rising gold quietly fixes mistakes. If Capri lent a little too much against a piece of jewellery, a higher gold price covers the error. Nobody yet knows how these loans behave when gold falls hard, because it has not happened while this book has been open.

The genuinely weak business is the lending to small firms against their property, where 4.29% has gone bad, more than five times the gold rate. It is also the most concentrated: Rajasthan alone is over a third of it, and three states are 84%. Across everything Capri lends, five states account for 78%. A regional problem would not stay regional for this lender.

The judgement call, in plain terms

Over one year, Capri's overall cushion against bad loans fell from 45% to 41%. At the same time the company was shifting more of its lending into gold, the business that carries the smallest cushion of all.

Neither fact is hidden. Both are in the accounts. Put together they mean the same thing: Capri is holding back less money against things going wrong than it used to. That is either sensible, because gold really is easier to recover than a half-built factory, or it is optimistic. Which one it turns out to be will be settled by the first serious fall in the gold price, and not before.

What actually protects your money

These are secured bonds. That word does more work in marketing than it does in law, so here is precisely what it means.

There is a trustee, IDBI Trusteeship, which holds the security on behalf of all bondholders and can accelerate the debt on default. Acceleration needs holders of three quarters by value to agree. Default is reckoned at the level of the individual ISIN, so the six series are not automatically cross defaulted with each other by the trustee mechanism.

What "1.10 times cover" is really saying. For every ₹100 you are owed, Capri sets aside ₹110 of loans made to its own borrowers. If those loans are good, you are comfortable. If Capri has failed, its loans are the reason, and ₹110 of a failed lender's loan book is not worth ₹110. Secured lending to a lender is safer than unsecured, but it is not the same as holding an asset that is independent of the borrower.

Three agencies, three different views

This is the most interesting thing about Capri, and it is not visible from either prospectus cover.

Who rates Capri, and what they actually rate As at 27 July 2026
AgencyRatingOutlookWhat is coveredAmountLast action
AcuitéAA+StableBank lines and the bonds₹13,400 crUpgraded 2 Jul 2026
InfomericsAAPositiveBank lines and the bonds₹12,595 crReaffirmed 31 Mar 2026
India RatingsAA-StableBank loans only, not the bonds₹200 crAssigned 22 Sep 2025
These are Indian scale ratings, where AAA is the best available and anything in the AA band is considered high quality. A single notch, from AA to AA+, is a small step in credit terms and a meaningful one in borrowing cost.

It is tempting to say three agencies rate this company three notches apart. That would be sloppy, so we will not. India Ratings rates ₹200 crore of bank loans, about one and a half percent of what Acuité rates, and it does not rate the bonds at all. It assigned that rating once, in September 2025, and has never revisited it. No India Ratings letter appears in either prospectus, and the April 2026 prospectus does not mention the agency's existence.

But the disagreement is real, and it is more interesting than a notch count. The agencies are watching different risks.

What each agency says would make it downgrade Their own words, and where Capri actually sits
AgencyStated downgrade triggerWhere Capri isDistance
AcuitéConsolidated bad loans reaching 4.5%1.02% at June 2026Far
India Ratings"Leverage exceeding 4.0x on a sustained basis"3.7x at March 2025, cut to 2.5x by the share sale, back to about 3.3x by March 2026Closing
InfomericsNo numeric trigger publishedn/aNone stated
Leverage means how many rupees Capri has borrowed for every rupee of its own money. India Ratings measures it slightly differently from the way Capri reports it each quarter, so the two sets of numbers cannot be compared directly, and the figure on India Ratings' basis for June 2026 has not been published. What is not in doubt is the direction.

The agency with the closer trigger is the one rating lower. That is the whole disagreement in one sentence. Acuité is watching credit quality, which is excellent and getting better. India Ratings is watching the balance sheet, which is levering up quickly. Both are looking at the same company and both are right about what they are looking at.

Acuité raised the rating without softening its standard

When Acuité upgraded Capri to AA+ on 2 July 2026, it kept its downgrade trigger at exactly 4.5% bad loans, word for word unchanged from March. An agency that raises a rating while holding its stated red line is expressing more confidence, not relaxing. We checked the upgrade against Capri's own filing to the exchange rather than relying on the agency's website.

One caution on the housing subsidiary. Acuité upgraded Capri Global Housing Finance to AA+ on the same day, which looks like corroboration and is not. Acuité's file on the subsidiary records "Unsupported Rating: Not Applicable" and consolidates it fully into the parent. The subsidiary has no standalone opinion. It is the parent's rating wearing a subsidiary's name.

Are the profits real?

Capri says its profit nearly doubled last year, and nearly doubled again in the June quarter. Numbers that good invite suspicion, so we took them apart.

Why a lender's profit matters to you as a bondholder. You do not share in Capri's success. You get your fixed interest and nothing more. Profit matters to you for exactly one reason: it is the money that absorbs bad loans before they start eating the money that repays you. A lender earning well can survive a bad year. That is the whole of your interest in it.

The growth is real. Almost all of it comes from ordinary lending: charging borrowers more than Capri pays for the money it lends. That gap alone more than explains the entire increase in profit, in both the year and the quarter. There were no one-off gains, no tax windfall, and no change in how the accounts are drawn up. Capri also set aside more money for bad loans, not less, so the profit is not the result of quietly loosening its guard.

Two things belong alongside that.

Some profit is counted before the cash turns up. Capri often sells part of a loan to a partner bank and keeps a share of the interest. Accounting rules let it book the value of all those future payments straight away, in one lump, years before the money actually arrives. That accounted for about 29% of last year's profit. It is genuine income and every lender does it, but it is a promise of future cash rather than cash in hand. The reassuring part is that it fell to 14% in the June quarter, so the company is leaning on it less, not more.

The doubling is partly an illusion of the comparison. Profit is being measured against the June 2025 quarter, which happened to be Capri's worst quarter of that year for loan losses. Comparing a good quarter with a bad one exaggerates the jump. Measured against the quarter immediately before it, profit rose about 25%, which is strong without being extraordinary. That is the number to hold on to.

The releveraging, which is the real question

In June 2025 Capri sold ₹2,000 crore of new shares to big investors. That did two things at once. It made the company safer overnight, because more of its lending was now funded by its owners' money rather than borrowed money. And it created room to borrow a great deal more.

The idea in one line. Every lender runs on a mix of its own money and borrowed money. The more it borrows against each rupee of its own, the more it earns when things go well, and the less room it has to absorb losses when they do not. Raising shares tilts the mix toward safety. Borrowing tilts it back the other way.

Capri has been using that room fast.

35% 25% 15% 32.86 30.32 25.85 24.66 Jun 25 Sep 25 Dec 25 Mar 26 Jun 26 2.01x 2.29x 2.84x 3.13x Debt to equity (dashed) Capital adequacy (solid)

The blue line is Capri's safety cushion, the share of its lending funded by its own money. The red dashed line is how many rupees it has borrowed for every rupee of its own. The cushion has been shrinking and the borrowing has been growing, every single quarter since the share sale. India's regulator requires the blue line to stay above 15%.

In the June quarter alone Capri borrowed an extra ₹2,944 crore, a 15% jump in three months. Its own money grew by less than 5% over the same period, because it raised no new shares and simply kept some of its profits. That gap is the whole story of the chart.

The clearest sign of the pace is not a ratio at all. On 30 April 2026 the board lifted the maximum the company is allowed to borrow from ₹25,000 crore to ₹35,000 crore. By 30 June it had borrowed ₹21,847 crore. Under the old ceiling it had about ₹3,153 crore of room left, which at the current rate is roughly one quarter of growth. The ceiling was raised because Capri was about to hit it.

None of that is alarming by itself. A 24.66% cushion against a 15% floor is comfortable, and there is room to grow for some time yet. But the direction has been one way for five quarters, and the cost of Capri's own borrowing has stopped falling, sitting at roughly 9.15%. The AA+ upgrade, which should eventually make borrowing cheaper, landed two days after the quarter ended, so none of its benefit is visible yet.

The fraud disclosure

In the year to March 2025, Capri's auditor filed a report with the Central Government under Section 143(12) of the Companies Act, in the prescribed Form ADT-4. That is the formal route by which an auditor escalates a suspected fraud of ₹1 crore or more directly to the government. It is not a routine filing. Capri's auditors made no such filing in the two preceding years.

The frauds were committed against Capri, not by it. The company disclosed that it "has initiated criminal proceedings against certain former employees under the gold loan business for committing fraud in connivance with borrowers". Every remedial measure the company lists is a gold loan branch control: surprise audits on holidays, cross zone audits, branch staff rotation, automating the movement of vault keys, and refresher training for staff on checking gold.

Frauds reported to the regulator₹ million, from the audited accounts
Year to MarchParent, reported to RBIGroup total
202311.18
202422.08
202582.36110.26
The group figure is higher because the housing subsidiary separately reported ₹27.90 million to the National Housing Bank. The accounts do not disclose how many incidents these represent, how much was recovered, or how much was written off.

Three things keep this in proportion. The audit opinion for that year was unmodified, on both the parent and the group accounts. The amounts are small against a company earning ₹949 crore. And a lender that catches its own staff, prosecutes them and reports it is doing what it should.

What sits awkwardly is that the litigation chapter of the same prospectus states there are "no material frauds that have been committed against our Company in the last three years". The word material is never defined in the document, so the statement cannot be tested. Both facts are in the prospectus. We are simply putting them next to each other, which the prospectus does not.

Not related, despite appearances. The same audit report carries a comment about the accounting software's audit trail not being enabled at database level for part of the year. That is the standard Rule 11(g) comment which a great many Indian companies carry, it is not a qualification, and it has nothing to do with the fraud.

The promoter's history

Capri Global Capital was previously called Money Matters Financial Services. Under that name it was the intermediary at the centre of the 2010 LIC Housing Finance bribes for loans case, in which the CBI arrested senior officials at several public sector lenders. Capri's promoter and managing director, Rajesh Sharma, was arrested in November 2010 and granted bail. The employee share plan is still legally named the Money Matters Employee Stock Option Plan 2009.

We could find no publicly traceable outcome: no chargesheet, trial, conviction, acquittal or discharge reported anywhere. Capri's March 2026 offer document, which is required to disclose outstanding criminal proceedings against promoters with no time limit, lists only borrower disputes and does not disclose any proceeding arising from that case. It also states there is no securities law violation, no wilful defaulter tag and no regulatory debarment against the promoters.

So the accurate position, and the only one we will state, is this: arrested in 2010, granted bail, no traceable outcome in the public record, and not disclosed as an outstanding proceeding in the company's own 2026 filing. That is neither a conviction nor a confirmed closure, and anyone telling you it is either has gone further than the documents allow.

About the name

The company became Capri Global Capital on 24 July 2013, about two and a half years after the arrest. It has had four names in all: Daiwa Securities at birth in 1994, then Dover Securities in 1999, then Money Matters Financial Services in 2008, then Capri Global. The promoter holding company has been through five, ending as Capri Global Ventures in February 2026.

Renaming a company after a difficult episode is common practice in India, and it works. Search the new name and the old trouble does not come up. A borrower, a depositor or a retail bond buyer doing normal research on Capri Global Capital will find nothing about 2010 unless they already know to look for Money Matters. The episode is not erased, it is just filed under a name nobody searches any more. Out of sight, out of mind, and over time the change starts to feel like a clean slate that was never actually granted by anybody.

It is worth being clear about what a new name does and does not do. It does not create a new company. Capri Global Capital is legally the same entity incorporated in 1994, carrying the same registration number and the same obligations. Nothing was settled, dismissed or forgiven by the change of letterhead. Equally, we cannot tell you why this company renamed itself, and companies rename for plenty of ordinary reasons including rebranding, a change of business and a change of ownership. We are describing a pattern and its effect, not asserting a motive.

None of this was hidden from you

Everything on this page came out of public documents, and most of it out of Capri's own. The full chain of names, with the exact dates, is printed on the front cover of both prospectuses, because the regulator requires it. The employee share scheme is still formally called the Money Matters Employee Stock Option Plan 2009, and the staff gratuity trust still carries the old name too.

So the company has not concealed its history. It is disclosed exactly where it should be. The gap is not between what Capri published and what is true. It is between what is published and what a reader would ever think to search for.

Two present day facts belong beside it. The promoter family holds 59.95% of Capri with no shares pledged, which we verified three ways including the annual declarations every promoter party filed in April 2026. And the family holding company is chaired by Rama Subramaniam Gandhi, a former Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India.

The story in order

How do these coupons compare?

A finding that surprised us: almost none of the big NBFC names sell bonds to retail at all. Muthoot Finance, Shriram, Bajaj, Tata Capital, L&T Finance and Piramal all fund themselves privately from institutions. The retail public bond market is a smaller and generally weaker rated group, which means Capri sits near the top of it.

Retail bond issues you could actually have bought, 2025 and 2026Coupon ranges cover all series and categories
IssuerWhenRatingCouponsSize
Power Finance CorporationJan 2026AAA6.85% to 7.05%₹5,000 cr
Surat Municipal CorporationOct 2025AA+8.00% flat₹200 cr
IIFL FinanceFeb 2026AA8.37% to 9.00%₹2,000 cr
Capri Global, second issueApr 2026AA8.80% to 9.50%₹489 cr
Capri Global, first issueOct 2025AA8.55% to 9.70%₹400 cr
Muthoot FincorpJun 2026AA8.51% to 9.25%₹600 cr
Sammaan CapitalJul 2025AA8.65% to 9.95%₹200 cr
Adani EnterprisesJan 2026AA-8.48% to 8.90%₹1,000 cr
Edelweiss Financial ServicesJun 2026A+8.65% to 10.00%₹300 cr
Nido Home FinanceAug 2025A+9.00% to 10.50%₹200 cr
Kosamattam FinanceMay 2026A8.50% to 10.00%₹300 cr
Ratings shown are the agency grades at the time of each issue. Capri's coupons are typical for its rating band. It pays roughly two percentage points more than a government owned lender rated AAA, and that extra two percent is what you are being paid for taking the risks described on this page.

Worth noticing: Capri's second issue paid less than its first, 8.80% to 9.50% against 8.55% to 9.70% at the long end, six months later. Better perceived credit, or a softer rate environment, or both. And it still did not fill.

How an issue can be "oversubscribed 4.9 times" and still not fill

Capri's April 2026 issue had a base size of ₹100 crore with permission to keep up to ₹500 crore. Demand of roughly ₹489 crore is 4.9 times the base, and 0.98 times the ceiling. Both numbers are true. The first is the one that gets into headlines and it tells you almost nothing. Always ask what the denominator is.

What we still cannot tell you

The two sides, side by side

We are not licensed to tell you whether to buy this, and we will not. What follows is the case each way, drawn from the documents.

In favour

  • Upgraded to AA+ by Acuité in July 2026, with the downgrade trigger held unchanged
  • Bad loans of 1.02% and falling for most of the last two years, well inside every stated tolerance
  • Profit growth is genuine operating growth, not accounting gains or one-offs
  • ₹2,000 crore of fresh equity raised in 2025, and capital adequacy of 24.66% against a 15% floor
  • Promoters hold 59.95% with no shares pledged, verified three ways
  • Secured, with 1.26 times actual cover against a 1.10 times covenant
  • No default or payment delay has ever been disclosed on any borrowing
  • Coupons sit at the top of what the retail bond market offers in this rating band

Against it

  • The largest business did not exist four years ago and has never seen a falling gold price
  • That business carries the thinnest provisioning of any segment, at 15.7% cover
  • Leverage is rising fast and India Ratings' stated 4.0x trigger is the one getting closer
  • The board had to raise the borrowing ceiling by ₹10,000 crore because it was about to bind
  • An auditor escalated a fraud report to the Central Government in FY25, in the gold business
  • A chief executive lasted fifteen weeks and no successor has been named
  • A director's re-appointment was withdrawn mid ballot for unexplained governance reasons
  • Very thin trading, 0.24% of the paper, so a large position cannot be exited quickly
  • Small business lending, a fifth of the book, runs 4.29% bad and is 37% concentrated in one state
  • The promoter was arrested in 2010 under the company's former name, with no traceable outcome either way in the public record
How this was compiled. Primary sources: Capri Global Capital's Prospectus dated 22 September 2025 (981 pages) and Tranche I Prospectus dated 30 March 2026 (206 pages), both read in full including the audited financial statements, CARO annexures and rating annexures. Capri's 185 exchange announcements from 27 July 2025 to 27 July 2026, including the audited FY26 results filed 30 April 2026, the June quarter results filed 27 July 2026, the Regulation 30 rating intimation of 2 July 2026, the CRISIL monitoring agency report, and the promoter encumbrance declarations of 9 April 2026. Rating documents from Acuité (2 July 2026), Infomerics (31 March 2026) and India Ratings (22 September 2025, retrieved from the agency's own data service). Trade data from our own exchange feed covering 2 April to 29 July 2026. Peer issue data from published prospectuses and issue records. Every decisive claim on this page was independently re-checked by a second researcher against a primary document, and several initial findings were discarded when they did not survive that check.
Important. This page is general information about a listed security. It is not investment advice, not a recommendation, and not an offer to buy or sell anything. We are not a SEBI-registered investment adviser or research analyst. Figures are indicative, drawn from a historical window, and may be stale by the time you read this. Prices and yields shown come from a thinly traded market and can change sharply or be unrepresentative. Past interest payments do not guarantee future ones. These bonds carry real risk, including the risk of losing some or all of your money. They are secured only on a shared pool of the issuer's own loan receivables at a covenanted cover of 1.10 times, there is no guarantee from any parent, promoter or government, and there is no debenture redemption reserve. The issuer is a non-banking finance company whose largest business is lending against gold, and whose performance is exposed to the gold price, to credit losses across its borrowers, to its ability to keep refinancing itself, and to regulatory change. The bonds are listed on BSE only and trade very thinly, so you may not find a buyer when you want to sell. Interest is fully taxable at your slab rate. Do your own research and consult a SEBI-registered investment adviser before making any decision.

more from the desk

all bond research →